Stars At Night

Last night will be one of the New Years Eves I will remember for a long time. I didn’t get drunk and I didn’t hang around many people but it was more about what happened after myself and Liam left the pub. I’d not drank that much other than a couple of pints of lager, I forgot to eat more at dinner though and so my stomach wasn’t really lined that well. Trying to drink on a quarter of a pizza is not really that smart.

Anyway. I sat there with my Mum and Liam, and we were discussing random stuff. I’m not even really sure now as to what we were discussing but I can only remember thinking that I felt incredibly sleepy and I just wanted to go home and snuggle. I had missed Liam so much that I just wanted to glue myself to him for the rest of the time he was visiting, which I know sounds really lame but it’s just how it is. After midnight, my mother was heading to her friends house and we decided to walk home. It’s not far from the pub and my shoes aren’t uncomfortable so we headed off home. I think I need some kind of an insole for my shoes as my feet kept on slipping out of them and threatening to make me fall over. Liam, who was ever the gentleman offered his arm for balance. I must have looked horrendous as I stumbled home on my glittery heels with my knight in shining armour for help. I didn’t care though and when we got to the end of my street, I looked up into the sky. The stars were out shining in the inky blackness and it was like they came out to greet us.

We stood there hand in hand looking up into the sky and he suddenly let go of my hand. It was nothing to be worried about though as he pointed up into the night and told me about the various constalations. We could see Orion very clearly, and he pointed out the belt part. It was really beautiful and I have to say that I was quite impressed. He was like a kid in a candy store and as I looked over at him, I could see that he had a massive grin plastered across his face. The saying is certainly true, you really can see the stars more clearly in the middle of nowhere. The sky looked so much bigger too. I remember the massive skies in the middle of Tennessee and Wisconsin, but this was truly something else. I couldn’t see stars then and here I could see them quite clearly. It made it better by being with the one I love and being taught the various shapes that the stars make up in the night sky.

Honestly, it will take a lot to beat that night.

Leave a comment